There's a new law?
Yes, there is a requirement for those trying to acquire a CDL license to complete entry-level driver training (ELDT) through an approved trainer in the Training Provider Registry. Prior to February 7, 2022, you could train yourself and just find someone with a CDL truck to take you to your road test.
The ELDT regulations set the minimum Federal requirements for training that entry-level drivers must complete before being permitted to take certain commercial driver’s license (CDL) skills or knowledge tests on or after February 7, 2022.
- The ELDT requirements apply to individuals who obtain a commercial learner’s permit (CLP) on or after February 7, 2022.
- The ELDT regulations are not retroactive; individuals who were issued a CDL or an S, P, or H endorsement prior to February 7, 2022 are not required to complete training for the respective CDL or endorsement.
Who is considered an entry-level driver?
Individuals applying to:
- Obtain a Class A CDL or Class B CDL for the first time;
- Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL;
- Obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time.
Where are you located?
We are located in Pelham, NH & Dracut, MA. We perform ELDT for residents of both New Hampshire and Massachusetts.
Which CDL can I get with you?
If you live in New Hampshire or Massachusetts, we can train you for your CDL-A or CDL-B. If you want to upgrade your existing CDL-B to a CDL-A, you would go through our full CDL-A program.
Both of our programs are done on trucks with automatic transmissions. Your license will have an "Automatic Restriction" which means you will not be approved to drive a CDL truck with a manual transmission.
When do you hold classes?
Our training is 1-on-1 and/or small group training, so we don't have any pre-set classes you will need to attend.
We have available training 3-hour slots Monday through Friday that you will be able to reserve based on your own schedule.
We do not hold training sessions from May to October. Registration is open from November 1st through about March 15th when there is available space.
What do you charge?
We charge a fraction of the price most schools are charging. Our current prices are posted on our home page.
Our flat-price tuition covers our whole program and as many training sessions as you need to be ready for your test. Most drivers are ready in an average of 12 sessions, or about 6 weeks. It also covers the use of our trucks and trailers for testing, and when you're ready for the test, we also book that for you.
You're responsible for the DMV/RMV permit & license fees, ELDT theory training costs, and if you fail your road test then we will charge an additional $150 each time you need to re-test.
Do you do driving training?
We do a combination of behind-the-wheel road training and behind-the-wheel range training. We also include training videos, books, and flashcards.
How Do I Register?
REGISTRATION WILL OPEN ON NOVEMBER 1ST... TRAINING SESSIONS WILL START BY THE END OF NOVEMBER.
Once you've obtained your permit, you're ready to get started with us. Simply give us a call to sign up. You'll talk to the boss and he will book your first training session.
You WILL have to complete theory training before we can book your skills test. A good time to do that is between getting your permit and starting with us. An affordable option is www.ELDT.com which is only $25! (We are not affiliated with eldt.com).
Do you do tractor-trailer training?
We do not do tractor-trailer training. We do not have any 5th-wheel trailers. Your license will have a "pintle restriction".
What endorsements will I have after going through your program?
You will have an Air Brake Endorsement.